T-Levels: Information for Schools and Career Advisors

T-Levels: Information for Schools and Career Advisors

Download the T Levels Teachers Pack

Why has the T Level been introduced?

T Levels have been introduced as part of the Government’s plan to reform technical education in the UK as set out in the Post-16 Skills Plan. They will sit alongside apprenticeships and A Levels and follow 15 technical routes.

The aim of the technical route is to prepare individuals for skilled employment which requires technical knowledge and practical skills valued by industry.

What T Levels will be available for learners?

In time, students will be able to take a T Level in the following subject areas:

  • accounting
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • animal care and management
  • building services engineering for construction (starting September 2021)
  • catering
  • craft and design
  • design and development for engineering and manufacturing
  • design, surveying and planning for construction (now available)
  • digital business services (starting September 2021)
  • digital production, design and development (now available)
  • digital support and services (starting September 2021)
  • education and childcare (now available)
  • finance
  • hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • health (starting September 2021)
  • healthcare science (starting September 2021)
  • human resources
  • legal
  • maintenance, installation and repair for engineering and manufacturing
  • management and administration
  • engineering, manufacturing, processing and control
  • media, broadcast and production
  • onsite construction (starting September 2021)
  • science (starting September 2021)

The T Level will be phased in over the next four years.

The T Levels on offer at Heart of Worcestershire College from September 2021 are:

  • Education and Childcare
  • Digital production, Design and Development

How will T Levels work with other qualifications?

T Levels will become one of the main choices for students after GCSE alongside:

  • Apprenticeships for students who wish to learn a specific occupation ‘on the job’
  • A levels for students who wish to continue academic education

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers and approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (the Institute). It is expected the total time for a T Level to be around 1,800 hours over the 2 years, including the industry placement. This is a significant increase on most current technical education courses.

This differs from an apprenticeship, which is typically 80% on-the-job and 20% in the classroom and is more suited to those who know what occupation they want to pursue, want to earn a wage and learn at the same time and are ready to enter the workforce at age 16.

How are T-Levels structured?

T Level courses include the following compulsory elements:

  • a technical qualification, which includes:
    • core theory, concepts and skills for an industry area
    • specialist skills and knowledge for an occupation or career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English if students have not already achieved them. At HOW college a grade 4 and above is required for entry onto both Digital and Education & Childcare

Is Industry Placement different to Work Experience?

The Industry Placement within the T Level is a mandatory part of the programme. Without completing the minimum 315 hours/ 45 days the T Level cannot be awarded.

Every T Level includes Industry Placement with an employer, and it focuses on the development of practical and technical skills that are required for that occupation.

The placement hours have to be achieved over the two years of the programme and can be with up to two employers. Clear objectives are set for every learner that link to the knowledge and skills learned in college and agreed by the employer.

It is not expected that the placement will be paid although travel may be supported in some cases.

How is the T Level graded and certification issued?

Students who complete their T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction*. They will get a nationally recognised certificate which will show their overall grade and a breakdown of what they have achieved.

The T Level certificate will include:

  • an overall grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit, distinction or distinction*
  • a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  • a separate grade for each occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction

It will also include confirmation that the student has:

  • met the minimum requirements for maths and English qualifications
  • completed the industry placement
  • met any additional mandatory requirements

A student’s overall T Level grade will be worked out from the grades they achieved on the core component and the occupational specialism(s).
Students who do not pass all elements of their T Level will get a T Level statement of achievement which will show the elements they have completed.

What progression routes are there?

T Levels will provide several progression options to students. These include skilled employment, an apprenticeship and higher education.

To help T Level students get into higher education, UCAS tariff points will be allocated to T Levels.

UCAS points will only be allocated to the overall T Level grade. Students must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive UCAS points.


More information and T Level resources for teachers and careers advisors can be found on the Government website here