Computing and IT

Level 3 Extended Diploma in Information Technology

Course overview

Our Extended Diploma in Information Technology is an advanced qualification that mixes theory with practical study to give you the best head start in the industry. With our diploma, you will be ready to progress to further study or begin you career as an IT professional.
Our diploma will help you develop a range of skills and techniques in IT from basic knowledge of computer systems to a more advanced understanding of programming, technical support and repair. You will learn how a computer works, how to design and maintain networks, and how companies use information systems to store and use data.

You will have the opportunity to design your own software, develop your own website and understand the principles of computing.

As well as studying the Level 3 Extended Diploma course, students will also complete:
• Work experience hours (or virtual projects)
• Attend Industry Skills Development classes
• Complete independent work at home
• Attend the tutorial classes
• Attend maths or/and English classes if they have below a grade 4 at GCSE

Please note that this course is aimed at 16 to 19 year olds.

Entry requirements

Applicants must have 5 GCSEs grade 4 and above (A*-C) including English and Maths. Alternatively, you will have achieved a Level 2 Extended Certificate, such as the Level 2 Extended Certificate in Information and Creative Technology. Entry is subject to a satisfactory reference and interview.

Entry decision will be discretionary after interview and based upon achievement of the above entry requirements. Students will continually be assessed through a probation period to ensure they are on the correct level.

Course Modules

Over the two years, students can expect to study the following:

Year 1:
- Unit 1: Information Technology Systems – Externally Assessed
- Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information – Externally Assessed
- Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business
- Unit 4: Programming
- Unit 5: Data Modelling
- Unit 6: Website Development

Year 2:
- Unit 9: IT Project Management
- Unit 10: Big Data and Business Analytics
- Unit 11: Cyber Security and Incident Management – Externally Assessed
- Unit 12: IT Technical Support and Management
- Unit 14: IT Service Delivery – Externally Assessed
- Unit 16: Cloud Storage and Collaboration Tools
- Unit 20: Enterprise in IT

Skills developed include:
- Critical Thinking
- Communication
- Collaborative working
- Self-management

How will I be assessed?

You will be assessed through assignment building and may include short tests, reports, practical activities and projects. There are four external assessments on this course which are set by the exam board.
You will have the chance to work with local developers and businesses to create products for them, thus building your portfolio in a real working environment.

To help students progress into higher education, UCAS tariff points are allocated to the course. UCAS points are allocated to the overall grade. Students must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive UCAS points

What can I do next

If you want to take your skills to the next level, you can take progress onto:
• Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Computing (Link)
Alternatively, you can choose to enter a range of career pathways including:
- IT Technician
- IT Helpdesk Analyst
- Network Support Engineer
- Software Developer